Park Acoustics: June Review, July Competition

Review by Joan Van Dyk (@vandykjoan)

I’ve been living in Johannesburg for about three months now. At this stage I’m convinced I emit some kind of ‘fresh meat’ frequency that attracts thieves, chancers, and birds with some real gastro-intestinal problems.  I envision Murphy (of Murphy’s law fame) drooling on the buttered side of his toast at the thought of me leaving the safety of my room.

Still, I occasionally venture out. As I did for Park Acoustics’ eighth birthday. After a car chase to the Gautrain, an uber to the monument and a sweaty trek up Fort Schanskop, the universe seemed to have no more pranks to pull.

We arrived just in time to catch Fokofpolisiekar, unfortunately missing the “friends” part of the day. But judging by the poor soul puking against a historic-looking wall, I’m assuming the Sextons, Late Night Fox, Tazers and Black Cat Bones were probably on-form.

There really is nothing quite like someone being carted off in a wailing ambulance to the tune of “vernietig jouself” to make me feel at home.

Kudos to emergency services though. Dehydration can be deadly, kids.

The show was everything we have come to expect from ‘Die Bende’:  alcohol in excess, a mob of fans screaming out every syllable of each song, and triple distilled-quality live music. One guy in the front even burst into tears, shame.

Meanwhile, Snake spits his beer into the branches of the thorn tree above the crowd like some kind of anti-establishment mist. Majestic. The kind of stuff that dissolves hangovers.

This in combination with edgy comedy from John Vlismas (featuring the monumental shutdown of a heckler I can only describe as a befuddled garden gnome – or park troll, if you will) and some solid golden oldie remixes from Moe Joe, made for a golden Sunday.

It was a happy bunch of humans toddling back down the hill.

Happy Birthday, Park Acoustics. I met you as an unruly eight-year old that would get an emotional ‘they grow up so fast’ from everyone’s cheesy aunt.  I hope you’ll stick around to become a door-slamming teenager that steals drinks from that same tannie’s fridge.

 

WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN WIN

Stand a chance to win a double ticket to Park Acoustics in July!
Comment below which act you are most excited to see live and you could be our winner.
Winner will be announced on 26 June via Facebook and Twitter and will be contacted via email.

20 Comments

  1. Quinton Dos Santos

    June 20, 2017 at 1:09 pm

    Bye Beneco and Adelle Nqeto! Haven’t seen these guys in ages! 😉

  2. Annemie du Plooy

    June 20, 2017 at 4:32 pm

    Oh my word!!!!! I can’t wait for this month’s Park Acoustics!!
    Bye Beneco is unbelievable, and Desmond and the Tutus will make my day!

    I wil even come with my entire gang in tutus 😉.
    Please help me out with some tickets, you will absolutely be my hero!!!☆

  3. Jacques

    June 20, 2017 at 4:33 pm

    Desmond and the tutus been a long time since i watched them live

  4. Melissa Sutherland

    June 20, 2017 at 6:31 pm

    Desmond and the Tutus no questions asked!! Can’t wait to see them live!

  5. Annemie du Plooy

    June 20, 2017 at 6:35 pm

    This Pretoria girl does all the heavy lifting 😉 i need a break with my boyfriend , i can do with some free tickets 😉😁..
    Help me out!☆♡

  6. Melissa Sutherland

    June 20, 2017 at 6:37 pm

    Going to park! We don’t need anything (except Park Acoustic tickets)
    I don’t need no persuasion, let’s go to Park and act like teenagers!
    I caught two busses (to get to the top), it took me ages (but it’s worth it) let’s act like teenagers!
    My poetry’s really bad, I’m just trying to get some tickets!

    Please SA Music Scene help me out with some Park Acoustics tickets! Can’t wait to see Desmond and the Tutus

  7. Annemie du Plooy

    June 20, 2017 at 6:39 pm

    I need some beer i need some relaxation…
    Why i need these tickets is a big explanation…
    Beer is what i live for
    Park Acoustics offers that and more!
    Make me winner
    For i am a sinner ,
    But drink, i will
    Next thing I’ll need then is a hangover pill.. 🍻🍺😁😶

    Desmond and the Tutus will be amazzzzzing!!!!

  8. Tiaan

    June 20, 2017 at 7:34 pm

    Adelle Nqeto for the win!!! She is such a peaceful and lovely soul and listening to her sing has the same affect on me as church has on other people. Also have been wanting to finally introduce my boyfriend to her because every time we get to see her he misses the show. Please please please give me some tix guys!!

  9. Craig Sloane

    June 20, 2017 at 9:01 pm

    Desmond and the Mother Flippin Tutus!

  10. Semi Addison

    June 20, 2017 at 9:05 pm

    HOT WATER all the WAY! 😀

  11. Soné

    June 21, 2017 at 8:56 am

    Bye Beneco for sure!

  12. Dylan Jv Rensburg

    June 21, 2017 at 9:12 am

    Bye Beneco for sure!

  13. Dylan

    June 21, 2017 at 9:25 am

    Hot Water every day !

  14. Jessica Dent

    June 21, 2017 at 10:05 am

    Desmond and the Tutus!! A day to party and celebrate, as it will also be a good friends farewell. Please do me a solid 🙂

  15. Mark Murgatroyd

    June 21, 2017 at 10:08 am

    Desmond and the tutus and Bye Beneco!! 😀 INSANE 😀 !!!!

  16. Sandy Chen

    June 21, 2017 at 10:11 am

    Desmond and the Tutus are always golden 👌🏼
    Park Acoustics, yes please!😁

  17. Jacques Celliers

    June 21, 2017 at 10:38 am

    I haven’t seen Bye Beneco in about 2 years and I would absolutely love to see them again. However the biggest reason for this Park is because nothing says exams are done and it’s holiday quite like Desmond and the Mother Flippen’ Tutus!

  18. Nikki

    June 22, 2017 at 1:32 pm

    amazzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzing show , this will be a total blast .Just recently watched all desmond and the tutus videos .Literally couldn’t stop laughing .I love a band that actualy looks like they enjoy doing what they do

  19. Marnel Smit

    June 22, 2017 at 9:58 pm

    Funny that you mentioned ‘Die Bende’ in your review… My friends and I made this ridiculous Whastapp group a few months ago, calling ourselves ‘Die Gazebo Bende’ (don’t judge, I promise we’re actually cool people). For the first time in a long time, the whole gamg/’bende’ will be in Pretoria for that weekend, and we’re all planning to go to Park Acoustics. But as a student, my mind is yelling “yes treat yo’self, go to Parks” and my wallet is like “with what?”.

    Please help me see one of my ultimate favourite local bands, BYE BENECO (because Lenny-Dee duh😍) with my lovely ‘bende’.

  20. Lauren Jansen

    June 26, 2017 at 10:08 am

    Desmond and the Tutus all the way!!!😬😬

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *