Your guide to the MK Awards 2013

MK is back with the 7th annual MK Awards which will see SA’s hottest music talent competing in 10 categories, where viewers votes will determine who will come out as winners at the finale event to be held at The State Theatre in Pretoria on 24 March 2013.


MK has changed things up a bit for this year’s awards by introducing the “Best SA Music Festival” and “Best Solo” categories. Phase one of the MK Awards 2013 took place between 10 and 25 January, where people had the opportunity to nominate who they felt best deserved to be in the “Best Live” and “Best SA Music Fest” categories. The artists and festival who came out with the most nominations by 25 January were included as official nominees.

Now that the full list of MK Awards 2013 nominees have been announced, viewers will have between 1 February and 8 March 2013 to vote on MK’s website and Facebook page.


mk blou


The nominees for 2013 are:

(Click to view videos on youtube)


Best Video

Die Heuwels Fantasties – Verraadplaas

Tailor – Wolf


The Frown – The National

The Parlotones – Honey Spiders

Van Coke Kartel – Tot Die Son Uitkom

Zebra & Giraffe – I’ll Blame you



Best Newcomer

Gangs of Ballet – Hello Sweet World

Goodnight Wembley – Time Machine

Spoegwolf – Lenie Blou

Tailor – Wolf

Toya DeLazy – Pump It On

Woodstock Mafia – Electric Light



Best Group

Die Antwoord – Baby Is On Fire

ISO – Destiny

The Plastics – Stereo Kids

Van Coke Kartel – Dis ‘n Land

Zebra & Giraffe – I’ll Blame You



Best Rock

Jack Parow ft. Francois van Coke – Hard Partytjie Hou

Taxi Violence – Unholy

Van Coke Kartel – Dis ‘n Land

Woodstock Mafia – Electric Light

Zebra & Giraffe – I’ll Blame you



Best SFX/Animation

Absinthe – Love Will Tear US Apart

Haezer ft. Lark – Brave

Mr Sakitumi – Jungle Jimmy

The Frown – The National

The Parlotones – Honey Spiders



Best Indie

Ashtray Electric – Bittersweet Manipulator

Black Handed Kites – Up

Mug-Shot – Bare Bones

Shortstraw – One Long Day

The Plastics – Stereo Kids



Best Dance

Die Antwoord – Baby Is On Fire

Double Adapter – Eat You Alive

Goodluck – Harlem

Johnny Neon – Hearts

Pascal & Pearce – Disco Sun



Best Solo

Bouwer Bosch ft. Jaco van der Merwe – (K)anker

ChianoSky – Sick Sick

Jeremy Loops – Howling

Shotgun Tori – Sweet Weather

Toya DeLazy – Love Is In The Air



Best Live Act



Gangs of Ballet

Jeremy Loops

The Black Cat Bones

Van Coke Kartel



Best SA Music Festival

Oppikoppi 2012

RAMfest 2012

Rocking The Daisies 2012

Synergy 2012

Up The Creek 2012



mk pienk


Voting has officially begun, and will end at 12:00 on 8 March 2013.

To get voting, head over to:  //


For exclusive updates on the MK Awards 2013, be sure to follow MK on:

@mktv_  // #MKAwards // Facebook



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *